“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”
— Albert Einstein
“He who fears he will suffer, already suffers because he fears.”
— Michel De Montaigne
“We think sometimes that poverty is only being hungry, naked and homeless. The poverty of being unwanted, unloved and uncared for is the greatest poverty.”
— Mother Theresa
“In seeking happiness for others, you will find it in yourself.”
“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift of God, which is why we call it the present.”
— Bill Keane
“Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.”
— Stephen Covey
The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.
-Walt Disney
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
-Benjamin Franklin

When people think of veganism, they often consider the limited food options, or having a diet that consists entirely of vegetables.

However, that’s not true at all!

In fact, there are a lot of food products that you probably consume now which are vegan, but you just don’t know it.

Take a look at the list below of surprising foods you didn’t know were vegan – chances are, you’ve eaten most of them!

Original Fritos


This deliciously salty chip consists of entirely simple ingredients, which you’ll see are all totally vegan!

There are only 3 things to Fritos: corn, corn oil, and salt.

However, due to variations in flavors, not all of the other assortments are vegan.

So when it comes to adding some variety to your chips, be sure to take a look at the ingredients on the other Fritos flavors.

Along with the original Fritos flavor, other vegan Fritos includes Fritos scoops and Fritos BBQ.

Jell-O Pudding Mix


Most people tend to think that pudding isn’t vegan because of the dairy involved.

However, if you make Jell-O Pudding with non-dairy milk, then you have nothing to worry about!

It is important to note, the instructions tell you to use full fat milk, otherwise your pudding will be runny – which is true.

So when you want to make your pudding vegan friendly, use half as much of your preferred non-dairy milk, and everything will be fine!

Additionally, keep in mind that only certain flavors of the actual Jell-O powder are completely vegan: vanilla, chocolate, lemon, pistachio, and banana.

To make it even better, not only are they vegan, but theses flavors are also gluten-free and soy-free.

Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup


If you have a craving for chocolate, don’t worry because Hershey’s Chocolate syrup is vegan friendly!

In total, they have 3 syrup flavors: original chocolate, strawberry, and caramel.

Of the 3 flavors, only the original chocolate and strawberry syrup is free of animal dairy products.

Their caramel flavor, however, contains skim milk and therefore is not vegan, of course.

So next time you want some tasty and delicious yet animal friendly chocolate flavoring, look no further than the classic chocolate brand, Hershey’s!

Ritz Crackers


You might think that due to the buttery taste of Ritz crackers that they must contain dairy, or some other form of animal products.

But surprisingly, the outside coating is made from oils and fats that come from soy beans!

Along with the ingredients, there are no animal products used at any time during the production.

Similarly to some of the previous products mentioned, they have a variety of flavors that are also vegan, such as their roasted vegetable crackers, whole wheat crackers, and bacon crackers.

Yup – the bacon flavored Ritz have no animal products either!

Bisquick, Betty Crocker, and Aunt Jemima Pancake Mix


Craving pancakes? If you’re to follow the instructions, adding milk and eggs will obviously add animal products.

But if you find substitutes, such as almond milk or replacing the eggs with bananas, these three pancake mixes on their own are totally vegan.

When you break it down to the ingredients, it’s surprisingly simple – these mixes mostly consist of flour, sugar, leavening mixture, and salt.

In general, most pancake mixtures will already have buttermilk, which is what sets these three vegan friendly mixtures apart from the others.

Dum Dums


Vegans crave lollies too – which is where Dum Dums come in!

There are 16 flavors of Dum Dums, along with the core seven flavors of lemon, lime, orange, coconut-pineapple, cherry, grape, and butterscotch.

But even in the large variety of flavors they come in, none of them contain animal products.

Most of the ingredients are artificial, as well as sugar and coloring.

Additionally, they contain no wheat or gluten either.

Gluten-free vegan suckers? Count me in!

Cracker Jacks


This classic American snack is a symbol of a millennial’s childhood.

Personally, I was always excited to eat Cracker Jacks specifically for the prize inside! But little did I know, I was eating a vegan snack.

With the outside caramel coating, you might think this crunchy mixture would contain butter – but it’s just sugar, corn syrup, molasses, and soybean oil.

And of course, the popcorn and nut pieces are just that – popcorn and nuts!



If you don’t think Skittles are vegan, you’re not entirely wrong.

They used to contain animal products, and there may still be some Skittles products in circulation from the old, non-vegan batches.

Luckily, these days they are now prominently vegan, though you should still check the packaging just in case.

If the packaging says “suitable for vegetarians,” then you should find a different package!

Otherwise, most of the flavors will be safe for you to enjoy the rainbow!



This may not be surprising to everyone, but there are still a lot of people out there who don’t know that Oreos are in fact vegan!

You might have thought that the Oreo filling – that creamy white goodness – must have dairy in it.

However, Oreo’s are not allowed by the FDA to call the filling “cream” when in fact there are no dairy products; so they officially call the filling “creme.”

It is made with sugar, canola oil, high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavor, and soy lecithin.

Like Skittles, Oreos did used to use animal products in their cookies, but have been vegan and kosher since 1997 by using vegetable oils instead.

Sour Patch Kids


This is definitely a surprise on the list.

Gummy candy is typically made by using gelatin, which is definitely not vegan!

But when you look at the ingredients, you’ll be surprised: sugar, corn syrup, corn starch, tartaric acid, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, and food coloring.

Even though they come in a variety of flavors, they all generally have the same ingredients, so there are no worries about filtering which one you buy.

If you want, you can get them all!


Vegan or not, there are certainly a lot of foods that are surprisingly vegan friendly, and therefore enjoyable for all.

Which one of these surprised you the most?

Pin It

Comments powered by CComment

15 Fruity Facts About Guavas

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

20 Mouth-Watering Facts About Burger King

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

5 Ways Technology is Improving Our Eating Experience

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

The World’s 7 Most Expensive Foods

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

6 Health Benefits of Eating Cherries

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

5 Mouth-Watering Facts About Watermelons

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

30 Shocking Facts About Subway

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

19 Facts About Red Bull That’ll Actually Give You Wings!

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

30 Guinness Facts That’ll Leave You Thirsty For More!

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

27 Nutty Facts About Peanut Butter

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

10 Surprising Foods You Didn’t Know Are Vegan

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

The Delectable History of Cadbury

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

10 Foods That Help To Kill Heartburn

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

Green Tea: From Harvest to Cup [Infographic]

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...

10 Funky Facts About Brussels Sprouts

Write comment (0 Comments) Read more ...